Skoll BASc/MBA Program

The Jeffrey Skoll BASc/MBA program provides University of Toronto engineering students with the opportunity to pursue a Master of Business Administration (MBA) degree at the Rotman School of Management immediately after the completion of their BASc. This program is unique in Canada. Students admitted into the program will be considered for a Skoll scholarship to partially offset the Rotman MBA tuition.

Why combine engineering and business?

Today’s engineers are often team leaders, project managers, company directors and entrepreneurs, and make a significant impact in the business world. The Skoll BASc/MBA program offers select students the opportunity to earn both technical and management qualifications, to become the next generation of leaders in business and industry.

How does the Skoll Program work?

Students interested in the Skoll program must complete a Professional Experience Year Co-op (PEY Co-op) during their BASc program.

Students apply to Rotman during their fourth year of Engineering studies. If offered admission into Rotman, students will then be considered for a Skoll scholarship. Students then continue on to finish their BASc, and in September of the same year, enter the Rotman MBA program.

How to apply:

To be eligible for admission to the Skoll Program, you must be a fourth-year Engineering student who has completed their PEY Co-op.

Please visit Rotman’s Skoll Program website to review the admission requirements and instructions.

Who is Jeffrey Skoll?

This 1987 graduate of from U of T Engineering’s electrical and computer engineering department went on to become an entrepreneur in every sense of the word. While is best known for his instrumental role in bringing eBay to incredible levels of success, he also founded the independent film production company, Participant Media. His company produced such films as An Inconvenient Truth, Syriana and North Country.

Aside from his entrepreneurial spirit, Skoll is a true philanthropist, earning several awards and accolades for his charitable contributions and global leadership, such as Time Magazine’s 100 People of the Year (2006) and Outstanding Philanthropist Award (2003).

© 2020 Faculty of Applied Science & Engineering